Ironman lottery and legacy: 11 Brits win Kona slots

Ironman has announced the 100 lucky age-groupers who have won a spot at this year’s Kona via its lottery programme, along with the 100 age-groupers who have earned their spot through its legacy programme.


This year’s lottery-winning athletes range in age from 20 to 74 and represent 16 countries, with seven of them Brits: 

George Banks, 26, from London
Gabriela Rendekova, 33, from London
Luis Arosemena, 41, from Kingston Upon Thames
Robert Clarkson, 48, from Godalming in Surrey
John Krumins, 50, from London
Nicola Walker, 52, from Largs in Scotland
and Jennifer Tait, 53, from Oxford.

The lottery programme was set up by Ironman founders John and Judy Collins in 1983, and also has slots for five physically-challenged age-group athletes, none of them Brits this year.

Legacy programme

This year’s legacy winning athletes include four Brits:

Click Here: cheap bulldogs jersey

James Dalton, 39, from Kings Langley
Jason McKinnon, 41, from Kineton in Warwickshire
Stuart Staples, 41, from Bicester
and Matthew Dawes, 42, from London

In order to qualify for this year’s legacy spots, athletes must have completed a minimum of 12 full-distance Ironman races, have never started in Kona, have completed at least one Ironman event in each of the 2013 and 2014 seasons and be registered for an Ironman event in 2015. 

For the full list of Lottery and Legacy winners, visit


Are you one of the lucky ones? Let us know in the comments below!